Methods of Making Payments
- eCheck – Available 24/7. No fee/Safe/Instant
- credit card – MC/American Express/Discover with a 2.75% Convenience Fee
Mail – Allow 7-10 days for delivery and processing
- Make check payable to Western Washington University in US dollars.
- Please write your WWU Student ID number on your check.
Western Washington University
Student Business Office
516 High Street MS 9004
Bellingham, WA 98225
In Person – In Bellingham Only
Submit payment to the Student Business Office, OM 110, between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. The Student Business Office accepts the following forms of payment:
- Check – payable to WWU in US dollars - Include your WWU student number on your check
- Debit Card – Visa/MC
The Seattle office does not accept payments. All payments must be made online or mailed to the address noted above.
- Write your student number on the check and make it payable to WWU.
- There is a $25 charge for the first returned check; a $50 charge for each additional NSF check.
Financial Aid is applied directly to the students account and pays charges posted to the account at that time. Any excessive funds will result in a credit balance refund. Students must establish their direct deposit refund preference to receive a prompt refund. Students who incur additional registration charges after financial aid has been applied to their account are responsible for paying the additional charges by the tuition due date.
It is important to check your student account online via myWestern or with Student Business Office if you add courses after the date on your account statement, or after financial aid has been disbursed, to determine if additional payment is required. If changes to your schedule result in additional charges, payment is due immediately.
Late Payment Penalties
Late payment may result in one or more of the following actions:
- Late fee and interest charges added to your account
- A hold placed on your account that affects registration, graduation, transcripts, and other University services
How to Avoid Late Fees
Following registration, check your WWU Online Student Account via Web4U
- Register by midnight, June 26, 2017.
- For most short courses 3-5 weeks in length, register by the second class meeting if the course starts after June 29.
- Pay on time and pay immediately if you add a course late.
- Pay by eCheck or credit card via Web4U for immediate application to your student account.
- Allow 7-10 days for mail to reach WWU. Payments are credited when received, not when mailed.
Emergency Loans – The University can often help a student who has a short-term cash flow problem by issuing an emergency loan. For more information contact the Financial Aid Department, Old Main 265, (360) 650-3470.
Failure to Pay Tuition
If you fail to pay the full amount of tuition and fees by the deadline (July 15 at 4:00 pm), you may be charged a late payment fee. Since the payment due date falls after the 100% refund period, you will still owe tuition and fees, even if you have decided not to be enrolled for the quarter. If you decide not to attend Western after you register for classes, it is important that you formally withdraw from the University on Web4U or at the Registrar’s Office, Old Main 230, as soon as possible to avoid incurring charges. (See Late Payment Fee for additional information.)
Quarter-Long Courses (6- to 9-week sessions):
|Start Date||Last Day for
|Last Day for Half Refund|
|6 and 9 week courses||June 20||June 26||July 7|
Less than 6-Week Courses:
|Start Date||Full Refund||Half Refund|
|3-5 week courses||Through June 26||June 26, by midnight||None|
|3-5 week courses||After June 26||Must withdraw before
the 2nd class meeting
|Less than 3 week courses||After June 26||Must withdraw before
the 2nd class meeting
|Less than 1 week courses||After June 26||Must withdraw no later
than 1st class
Faculty-led Study Abroad Programs Refund/Cancellation Policy
Full refunds will be given if the faculty-led study abroad program is cancelled. The application fee is nonrefundable except for program cancellation. Students who cancel their registration may receive a partial or no refund based on financial commitments and payments made to program organizers. No refunds will be given after April 1.
Dropping a course(s) (6- or 9-week) – Dropping a course(s) before 5 p.m., June 30, 2017, is considered to be a change of initial registration and no grade of W results, however you are still responsible for the associated tuition and fees (see Refund Policies.)
Course Withdrawal (6- or 9-week) – after 5 p.m., June 30, 2017, is considered late and results in a W grade. After 5 p.m., June 30, 2017, the use of a late-withdrawal privilege is required and must be done in person at the Registrar’s Office, Old Main 230. Discontinued attendance without an official withdrawal results in a failing grade (F or Z).
Withdrawal Privileges (6- or 9-week) - Each student is granted two annual late-withdrawal privileges at the beginning of the academic year in fall quarter. The annual late-withdrawal privileges can be used for late course withdrawal beginning the third week each quarter. Unused late-withdrawal privileges cannot be accumulated.
Hardship Withdrawal - A student who is unable to complete a course due to hardship may petition for a late course withdrawal after the stated deadlines. Hardship is considered to be an incapacitating injury or illness requiring extensive recuperation or a significant personal emergency such as death in the immediate family. Verification of the hardship is required. Petitions for a late course withdrawal on the basis of hardship may be accessed here or in Viking Union 506. Students granted a hardship withdrawal are required to successfully petition Financial Aid if they wish to regain their financial aid eligibility resulting from their withdrawal. Although a hardship withdrawal may be approved, tuition and fees may not be refunded.
Impact of Withdrawal on Federal Student Aid - When you withdraw during the quarter, the amount of FSA (Federal Student Aid) program assistance that you have earned up to that point is determined by a specific formula. If you received (or Western or your parent received on your behalf) less assistance than the amount you earned, you may be able to receive those additional funds. If you received more assistance than you earned, the excess funds must be returned by Western and/or you before you can receive financial aid for subsequent quarters. For further information contact the Student Accounts Office, Old Main 110, (360) 650-2865.